Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Office of the Chancellor

Frequently Used Tools:

Advisory Groups » Council for Diversity & Interculturalism

Council for Diversity & Interculturalism

The Council advises the campus administration on creating and sustaining a welcoming, supportive and inclusive campus climate to all groups. Their goals include attracting and retaining faculty and staff from under-represented populations; attracting, retaining and graduating students from historically under-represented populations and international students; and ensuring that undergraduate curricular requirements include significant intercultural perspectives.

Related Web site:


  • Tyvi Small, College of Business Administration
  • Tyler Johnson, Athletics


  • Rickey Hall, Vice Chancellor for Diversity
  • Brian Thomas, Graduate Research Assistant
  • Mary Papke, Commission for Women
  • Lili'a Neville, Commission for Blacks
  • Karla McKanders, Commission for Blacks
  • Phyliss Shey, Commission for LGBT People
  • Joel Kramer. Commission for LGBT People
  • Maxine Davis, Student Life
  • John Zomchick, Academic Affairs
  • Paul Troy, Student Government Association
  • Damien Pitts, Graduate Student Senate
  • Eric Stokes, Office of Undergradute Admissions
  • Annazette Houston, Office of Disabilities Services
  • Pia Wood, Center for International Education
  • Marva Rudolph, Office of Equity and Diversity
  • David Golden, Faculty Senate
  • Herb Byrd, Human Resources
  • Angela Batey, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Carolyn Hodges, The Graduate School
  • Alecia Davis, Black Faculty and Staff Association
  • Margie Nichols, Office of Communications and Marketing
  • Rita Smith, Hodges Library
  • Mike Wirth, College of Communication and Information
  • Anton Reece, Student Success Center
  • Althea Murphy-Price, School of Art
  • Adam Cureton, Philsophy
  • Sandy Mixer, College of Nursing
  • Tim Hiles, School of Art