Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Office of the Chancellor

Frequently Used Tools:

Notes from the Chancellor » Kudos, Kudos, Kudos

Kudos, Kudos, Kudos

Here's a list of faculty, staff, and students who have made headlines for their accomplishments in recent months.

Faculty and Staff

A diversity program in the College of Engineering—the High School Introduction to Engineering Systems (HITES)—has been selected by the National Association of Multicultural Engineering Program Advocates as the 2013 Outstanding Pre-College/Community Organization Award recipient.

The Working Safely is No Accident website/app has won the $15,000 grand prize in the Worker Safety and Health App Challenge sponsored by the US Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration. The website/app was a joint effort of the Construction Industry Research and Policy Center in the College of Business Administration and the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) has honored Thomas K. Davis, associate professor of architecture, for his community outreach program, Collaborations in Transit-Oriented Development. The New Norris House, a sustainable home developed by students and architecture faculty members Tricia Stuth, Robert French, and Richard Kelso, and staff member Samuel Mortimer, received the ASCA’s Design Build Award.

Lady Vols Head Coach Emeritus Pat Summitt is the recipient of the 2013 Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women’s College Basketball Award.

Patrick DunnPatrick L. Dunn, associate professor of counselor education in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences and founder of our rehabilitation counseling distance education program, has been named the 2012 Outstanding Rehabilitation Educator by the International Association of Rehabilitation Professionals.

Doug BlazeCollege of Law Dean Doug Blaze is the 2012 recipient of the Deborah Rhode Award. Given by the Association of American Law Schools, the award honors a dean or faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution to increasing pro bono and public service opportunities in law schools.

Michael HandelsmanMichael Handelsman, professor in modern foreign languages in the College of Arts and Sciences, has been inducted into Ecuador’s National Academy of Language, the second oldest national academy in Latin America (founded in 1874), and a corresponding chapter of Spain’s Royal Academy of Language.

A sustainability project proposal created by College of Engineering professors has made it through the first phase of the P3 Awards, a national design competition for sustainability sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency. Faculty members involved in the project are Paul Frymier, associate professor in chemical and biomolecular engineering; Christopher Cherry, assistant professor in civil and environmental engineering; David Irick, research assistant professor in mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering; and Leon Tolbert, Min H. Kao Professor of Electrical Engineering. They will compete in April for the P3 Award and $90,000 to take their design to real-world application.


Nate Buchanan, an MBA student from Hendersonville, Tennessee, won the fall Vol Court competition with Credit Virgin, an online platform that helps students build good credit scores. Second place went to Mitchell Poythress, a junior from Antioch, Tennessee, for his mobile application that will help shoppers locate food items in a grocery store.

The latest winners of grants from the Boyd Venture Fund—administered by the Anderson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation in the College of Business Administration—are Anthony Smith, a senior in public relations; Justin Ruffin, a junior in communications; and Alex Adams, a junior in mechanical engineering. Smith and Ruffin co-founded InHouse GFX, a custom screen printing, graphic/print design, and web development company. Adams founded Adams Innovation, a company that designs and distributes leisure hammocks.

Cat MillerCat Miller, senior in kinesiology, was selected as a "Top Ten Leader in Action" by Campus Pride, the leading national nonprofit organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students. Miller now competes for the National Voice and Action Leadership Award.

Massey Hall has won the eighth annual Make Orange Green POWER Challenge, earning the title of "greenest" residence hall at UT.

Jamie Madere, a junior in retail and consumer sciences, has received a $5,000 scholarship through the National Retail Foundation’s Ray M. Greenly Scholarship fund. The scholarship will cover educational costs and a stipend to attend the federation’s January convention in New York City. She was one of twenty-four college students nationwide to receive the award this fall.