Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Office of the Chancellor

Frequently Used Tools:

Notes from the Chancellor » Kudos, Kudos, Kudos

Kudos, Kudos, Kudos

Here’s a list of faculty, staff, and students who have made headlines for their accomplishments in recent months.

Faculty and staff

Eric LukosiEric Lukosi, an assistant professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering, received a Ralf E. Powell Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities. The $10,000 award will help fund his research on developing a long-lived High Temperature Direct Energy Conversion nuclear battery.

Howard Hall, Governor’s Chair Professor in Global Nuclear Security, was named the 2013 College of Charleston Distinguished Alumnus of the Honors College.

Jason Hayward, UCOR Faculty Fellow in Nuclear Engineering, whose research on neutron imaging could improve medical imaging and high-mileage electric vehicles, has received the US Department of Energy’s Early Career Research Award. He will receive $750,000 over five years starting in July.

Three researchers at the Center for Transportation Research—Jerry Everett, David Clarke, and Matt Cate—are on the list of those earning the Top 20 Awards for Tennessee Department of Transportation–sponsored research tallied during the first three quarters of 2013.

Matthew Mench has been elected a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for his extensive contributions to the study of power conversion and storage devices, including fuel cells and flow batteries.

David Jenkins, an assistant professor in chemistry; Jaan Mannik, an assistant professor in physics; and Jeff Reinbolt, an assistant professor of mechanical, aerospace, and biomedical engineering, have received Faculty Early Career Development awards, the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious honor for junior faculty.

Rachel May Golden, associate professor and coordinator of musicology, has been accepted to the National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Institute on Music and Travel in Europe and the Americas, 1500–1800, a four-week institute at the Newberry Library in Chicago.


Five recent graduates have been selected as Presidential Management Fellows, which places them in an elite employment pool for management positions in the federal government. They are Buki Fatima Baruwa, of Cary, North Carolina, who received a law degree; Christopher Thomas Benson, of Knoxville, who recently received a master’s in public administration; Abigail Rene Bordeaux, of Maryville, Tennessee, who received a master’s in public administration; Cherwanda Lavet Lancaster, of Knoxville, who received a master’s in public health; and Sean Timothy McGonigle, of Knoxville, who received a law degree.

Three transportation graduate students have been awarded the National Science Foundation’s East Asia and Pacific Summer Institute Awards to participate in research with international faculty and students in China and Japan. The awardees are Stephanie Hargrove and Zane Pannell in civil and environmental engineering and Gengen He in geography.

Amanda Gann, a graduate architecture student, won a video contest and co-hosted ARCHITECT Live!, a live broadcast that showcased conversations with the leading thinkers and personalities in architecture. The show was part of the American Institute of Architects National Convention. She hosted alongside Stephen Chung, an acclaimed architect and creator/host of Cool Spaces: The Best of New Architecture, a prime-time television series on US and Canadian public television.

Vincent Kandagor, a fourth-year doctoral student with the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education, who is affiliated with the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, won the Best Poster Award at the American Filtration Society Conference held in May.

Taekwan Yoon, a graduate student in civil and environmental engineering, earned one of twenty national scholarships offered by the Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association.

Paul LemieuxGeography major Paul Lemieux will conduct research this summer at the Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, as a recipient of a prestigious NASA internship. Paul will investigate how NASA remote sensing data can be used to understand issues associated with human health and climate change.

Sarah BleakneySarah Bleakney has received an Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarship from the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). This prestigious award provides two years of financial support for her undergraduate work in geography and a research internship in summer 2014.

Andrew Fist and Dimitrios A. Kakavelakis III, students of Joseph Majdalani at the UT Space Institute, competed in the Masters Division of the sixty-fourth AIAA Southeastern Regional Conference. Fist won first place and Kakavelakis won second place for their papers. This marks a four-year winning streak for Majdalani’s students.

A student team representing the UT chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers placed sixth out of twenty-four teams during the society’s Southeast Regional Conference in March. In the conference’s three main events, UT-ACSE teams were ranked second in the Professional Paper category, fourth in Steel Bridge Overall, and eleventh in Concrete Canoe Overall.