Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Office of the Chancellor

Frequently Used Tools:

Notes from the Chancellor » National Academy Members

National Academy Members

Volunteer Boulevard

We are proud to have five faculty members in the National Academies—four in the National Academy of Engineering and one in the National Academy of Sciences.

National Academy members are among the world’s most esteemed scientists. Their research and teaching make us a better institution, and their presence on our campus enhances our university’s reputation.

Our National Academy members are an exceptional group:

Mark DeanMark Dean, co-inventor of the personal computer and former chief technology officer for IBM Middle East and Africa, was elected to the NAE in 2001. An alumnus of the College of Engineering, he will join the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences September 1.

Jack DongarraJack Dongarra, distinguished professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was elected to the NAE in 2001. He helped design and implement widely used open-source software packages and advanced computing systems. He also directs an international ranking of supercomputers.

Ramamoorthy RameshRamamoorthy Ramesh, UT–Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Nanomaterials Engineering, was elected to the NAE in 2011 and joined UT this year. His breakthrough research has led to a new generation of computer memory devices that retain stored information even when not powered.

Dan SimberloffDan Simberloff, distinguished professor and the Gore-Hunger Professor of Environmental Science in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and director of the Institute for Biological Invasions, was elected to the NAS in 2012. He is a leading expert on invasive species.

Steve ZinkleSteve Zinkle, UT–Battelle Corporate Fellow and chief scientist for ORNL’s Nuclear Science and Engineering Directorate, was elected to the NAE in 2012. He will join UT October 1 as our Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials. His research advances understanding of radiation damage in metallic and ceramic components.

NAE members have distinguished themselves in academia, business, management, and technical positions and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations. NAS members are elected because of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.