Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Advisory Board

Pedestrian Walkway Seal Close-up

The seven-member Advisory Board is charged with submitting recommendations to the University of Tennessee System president on campus-level strategic plans and operating budgets, including tuition and fees. These recommendations are to be made prior to a Board of Trustees vote on any annual operating budget or strategic plan.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University of Tennessee, overseeing the educational and operational activities of the statewide university system.


The Advisory Board includes five public members appointed by the governor, one faculty member appointed by the campus’s Faculty Senate, and one student member appointed by the advisory board.

The public members of the Advisory Board are Allen Carter of Niota, Alexia Poe and Tom Smith of Nashville, John Tickle of Bristol, and Syreeta Vaughn of Knoxville.

The Faculty Senate appointed Beauvais Lyons, Chancellor’s Professor of Art, to serve as the faculty appointee to the board.

The student appointee is Alexandra Szmutko, a third-year doctoral student in sociology.

Advisory Board Member Bios