Skip to content

Chancellor’s Professors

Suzie Allard

Suzie Allard, a professor of information sciences in the College of Communication and Information. She is also the associate dean for research and the director of the Center for Information and Communication Studies. At UT since 2003, Suzie has a distinguished record of research, teaching, and service locally, nationally, and internationally.

William “Bill” Fox

William “Bill” Fox, the William B. Stokely Distinguished Professor of Business and director of UT’s Center for Business and Economic Research (CBER), is the leading national expert on Internet taxation and has extensive expertise in state tax policy, public finance (operations between government and private sectors), and fiscal federalism. He has served as a consultant on finance, taxation, and economic development in the United States and in developing countries including Rwanda, Egypt, and Jordan. He has worked with multinational organizations such as the World Bank in creating and revamping tax structures for foreign governments.

Louis Gross

Louis Gross, the Alvin and Sally Beaman Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Mathematics and a James R. Cox Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences. At UT since 1979, Lou is an accomplished researcher who has authored more than 80 research papers as well as several books and software packages. Lou played an integral role in establishing the National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis (NIMBioS), and in 2017 he became one of the 18 inaugural fellows of the Society for Mathematical Biology.

J. Wesley Hines

J. Wesley Hines, head of the Department of Nuclear Engineering in the Tickle College of Engineering. The department is one of the oldest, largest, and most prestigious nuclear engineering programs in the country. At UT since 1995, Wes is an outstanding educator at both the undergraduate and graduate level, engaged in curriculum development, development of online education, and the use of distance education. He is an internationally recognized innovative leader whose research has produced more than 130 research projects with awards totaling more than $14 million.

Sally Horn

Sally Horn, professor of geography, examines global environmental change and human-environment interactions during the Quaternary period of Earth’s history, which began some 2.6 million years ago and includes the Ice Ages of the Pleistocene as well as the warmer Holocene epoch in which we live today. With students and other collaborators, she has studied the impacts of climate change and prehistoric and modern human activity on vegetation and landscapes of the Southeastern US, Central and South America, and the Caribbean and tropical Atlantic regions. Horn helped organize and now directs UT’s Initiative for Quaternary Paleoclimate Research.

Suzanne Lenhart

Suzanne Lenhart is a professor of mathematics. Lenhart’s work in the field of mathematical biology has been used in devising drug strategies to treat HIV and making recommendations to change the chest pressure pattern in CPR. Her work also has been used to help combat environmental problems such as black bear population control, fishery maintenance, and control of the gypsy moth. Lenhart has received grants from the National Science Foundation almost continuously since 1985. She is associate director for education, outreach, and diversity at the National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis (NIMBioS). She was the director of the Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program in the Department of Mathematics for fifteen years and is now the director of such a program for NIMBioS.

Beauvais Lyons

Beauvais Lyons is a Professor of Art known for his work as a printmaker, with expertise in contemporary art, art parody, mock documentation, and art censorship issues. His one-person exhibitions have been presented at more than eighty galleries and museums in the United States and abroad. Lyons is well known for his “Hokes Archives,” creating mock academic projects in archaeology, medicine, folk art, zoology and most recently, is creating an imaginary circus. His prints are in numerous public collections, including the Smithsonian Museum of American Art in Washington, DC, the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. He was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in 2002, a Santo Foundation Artist Award in 2014, and served as president of the UT Knoxville Faculty Senate in 2003-04 and 2017-18.

Susan Riechert

Susan Riechert, a Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology in the College of Arts and Sciences. At UT since 1973, Susan has done work on game theory that was pivotal in the field, and her research—consistently funded by the National Science Foundation—has produced more than 100 chapters and articles in top journals. Committed to preparing future generations of science teachers, Susan created a groundbreaking outreach program, Biology in a Box, which is now used in 108 school systems in Tennessee and neighboring states. She also developed VolsTeach, which provides a STEM teaching minor to science, math, and engineering majors. Finally, she has served as an outstanding role model for women in biology and other sciences.

Jay Rubenstein

Jay Rubenstein, a professor of history in the College of Arts and Sciences. He currently serves as the director of the Marco Institute, an interdisciplinary research center that is central to the support of many of our humanities scholars. At UT since 2006, Jay is an internationally recognized scholar of medieval history and has been awarded several prestigious grants and awards, including the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. Jay is also an outstanding mentor to graduate students and fellow faculty members.

Soren Sorensen

Soren Sorensen, a professor of physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Arts and Sciences. At UT since 1985, Soren excels as an advisor for graduate students and was honored as Teacher of the Year in 2008 and 2013 by the Society of Physics Students. Soren is also the chair of STRIDE (Strategies and Tactics for Recruiting to Improve Diversity and Excellence) and is passionate about educating the campus community on bias and diversity. He is a successful researcher who has produced more than 270 referreed papers that have been cited more than 15,500 times. Soren also plays an integral role at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, which recognizes UT as a top research institute and provides research opportunities for our students and postdocs.

Carol Tenopir

Carol Tenopir, professor of information sciences in the College of Communication and Information, studies the ways the digital age affects how we retrieve and process information. She is director of the Center for Information and Communication Studies and director of research for the College of Communication and Information. A highly productive teacher and researcher, she has published and taught extensively about the impact of technology on reference librarians and scientists. She is the recipient of the 2004 International Information Industry Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, she has won the 2009 Award of Merit from the American Society for Information Science and Technology, the ASIST 2002 Research Award, the 2000 ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence, and the 1993 Outstanding Information Science Teacher Award.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.